Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
We Play Games  By  cover art

We Play Games

By: Sarah A. Denzil
Narrated by: Billie Piper,Dan Stevens,Shane Zaza,Avita Jay,Felicity Duncan,David Holt,Sarah Whitehouse
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $16.35

Buy for $16.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

When the rules turn deadly, winning is everything.

Only available from Audible, a gripping psychological thriller from the author of Silent Child, Saving April, and The Broken Ones. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Lisa Jewell and Paula Hawkins.

This gripping multi-voice audiobook features Billie Piper as Effie, Dan Stevens as Ben, Shane Zaza as David, and Avita Jay as Sophie, other roles are played by Felicity Duncan, David Holt and Sarah Whitehouse.

The perfect couple. The perfect marriage. The perfect game.

Effie and Ben May have everything. Success. Beauty. Glamour. But beneath the charming smiles and expensive clothes, a twisted game is in progress.

A game for which only they know the rules.

Leaving their fast-paced London life behind them, the Mays move to the exclusive gated community of Ivy Oaks. Here they can settle down and start a family in this quiet, safe little neighbourhood. At least, that’s what they tell their new neighbours.

But the truth has deadly consequences.

While Effie and Ben scheme and manipulate those around them, they fail to notice their carefully cultivated façade crumbling away. The perfect couple soon turn the game on each other, breaking all the rules. But when the stakes are life and death, losing isn’t an option.

As the final cards are dealt, who will play the winning hand and who will pay the ultimate price?

©2024 Sarah Denzil (P)2024 Audible, Ltd

Critic reviews

“Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, welcome to your new listening addiction!” The Sun

What listeners say about We Play Games

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,393
  • 4 Stars
    634
  • 3 Stars
    230
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    28
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,703
  • 4 Stars
    435
  • 3 Stars
    112
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    16
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,333
  • 4 Stars
    591
  • 3 Stars
    263
  • 2 Stars
    65
  • 1 Stars
    35

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Two hours left

I have 27 theories of what’s happening and hope I’m wrong 27 times. I am loving this story. Although the idea of motherhood making you a better human is a bit far fetched (hahaha!!) I mean-what a stretch…..Will edit in a couple hours when all will be revealed…..

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

gets you invested

the characters are all interesting and as charming as they are terrible. It reads like a play with acts. enjoyed throughly

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

UNBELIEVABLE

Well written and performed. What kind of twisted mind can come up with such a storyline? The ending was as perfect.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Blah

I’m glad I didn’t waist a credit on this book and I’m willing to try another book from this offer because of some of the reviews I read. That is probably why I pushed through this book.

I’m not a fan of the music and background noise. I found it cheesy and distracting. It was creative to use social media to help with the background but the twist was weak and it moved so slowly. The ending was a weak attempt to wrap things up.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ok

I enjoy a good thriller and a good mystery, and I'd say this story is both. I did think the ending was a bit on the predictable side, but since it was just the ending, I didn't mind too much. I was slightly annoyed with the production. I usually prefer my books without extra music and sound effects, and although it was helpful to differentiate the news reports and online writings with a clearly different voice, all the music breaks were a bit much. There were also some instances when the narrator for Effie's voice seemed to read words wrong, as if she was focusing on keeping the accent and her voice the way it was supposed to be, only to say a word in a strange way. But overall, I enjoyed this story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Glad it was free

Didn’t like the end. Part of the ending was terribly predictable. Forced my way through based on other reviews, but the story never became very satisfying or compelling in my opinion.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lots of twists!

Loved this! There were lots of little twists…especially right at the end! Performances were great…huge fan of Dan Stevens and Billie Piper. Would make a great movie or limited series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling! Keeps you on your toes the whole way

Incredible story telling! Loved the different characters at play and the twist and turns were phenomenal! I was sad when I would have to stop listening for whatever reason. 10/10 would listen to again!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

performance was good but...

Story was lacking. I was hoping to go into it thinking that there would be a bunch of twists and turns but everything was pretty obvious from the start.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hard to get through

This is a hard to get through book. The characters are so unlikable. If you can make it to the end, it’s pretty good. The performances are great. But it’s just full of a lot of really nasty, hateful characters that you want to see punished. There needed to be at least one or two characters you cared about. But this book doesn’t have any.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful