Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Chapter One  By  cover art

Chapter One

By: Michael Wood
Narrated by: Stephen Hogan, Lucy Paterson
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $16.35

Buy for $16.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Only available from Audible, a gripping psychological thriller from the author of the DCI Matilda Darke crime series. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

A copycat killer is on the loose but who really has blood on their hands?

For years, Aidan Cullen has dreamed of becoming a successful crime writer. When his hard work finally pays off and his first book is published, what should have been a night of celebration unravels into an evening of horror. Left for dead after a brutal attack, trauma leaves him paranoid and reclusive, and he retreats to the remote countryside with only his dog Nanook for company. With the world kept at arm’s length, he begins to feel safe. That is, until a woman is murdered at the end of his road.

With the police asking questions and a stalker knocking on his door, Aidan’s peace is completely shattered. And when the murderer strikes again, he starts to see a pattern in the killings; a pattern only he can recognise. Is the killer sending him a message or is his mind playing tricks on him? When you can’t trust yourself, nobody is safe.

©2023 Michael Wood (P)2023 Audible Ltd.