• We'll Fly Away

  • By: Bryan Bliss
  • Narrated by: James Fouhey
  • Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
We'll Fly Away  By  cover art

We'll Fly Away

By: Bryan Bliss
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.19

Buy for $25.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

“A compelling and raw story.” (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

“[Bliss dares] his readers not only to see the depths of human complexity, but to care.” (Booklist, starred review)

Luke and Toby have always had each other’s backs. But then one choice - or maybe it is a series of choices - sets them down an irrevocable path. We’ll Fly Away weaves together Luke and Toby’s senior year of high school with letters Luke writes to Toby later - from death row.

Best friends since childhood, Luke and Toby have dreamed of one thing: getting out of their dead-end town. Soon they finally will, riding the tails of Luke’s wrestling scholarship, never looking back. If they don’t drift apart first. If Toby’s abusive dad, or Luke’s unreliable mom, or anything else their complicated lives throw at them doesn’t get in the way.

Tense and emotional, this hard-hitting novel explores family abuse, sex, love, and friendship, and how far people will go to protect those they love. For fans of Jason Reynolds, Marieke Nijkamp, and NPR’s Serial podcast.

Praise for We’ll Fly Away:

"Bryan Bliss has written an empathetic and stirring novel about what it means to fight for the outcasts, the forgotten, and even the hated, reminding us that we all have worth. That we are all valuable." (Sister Helen Prejean, author of Dead Man Walking)

“A poignant story of loyalty, abuse, and poverty...This compassionate and beautifully rendered novel packs an emotional punch.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)

“A smart, rugged, all-too-true story of friendship under fire. Believable characters and page-turning tension.” (Chris Crutcher, author of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes)

“This fast-paced read will have teens tearing through chapters to find out why Luke is in jail.... The conclusion will leave them devastated. This is [a] touching book about male friendship for fans of Jason Reynolds.” (School Library Journal)

“The unshakable and unconditional bond between the young men is tested and proves true, a ray of light in the darkness of their stories.” (VOYA)

©2018 Bryan Bliss (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about We'll Fly Away

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Listened in one day

The performance was 5 star no question. He did amazing at voicing the different characters in very unique, distinct ways. I always knew who was talking by the performance. Not only were the voices changed, but the characters were acted in such a way that I really did get a feel for the characters. It was great!
The story was sad, well told, intriguing, and interesting. I felt pulled into this story right away and liked the format and way it was told. This story is sad and could potentially bring you down, so know that going in. This story is about friendship, pain, broken families, coping, and acceptance. I had to hear how it ended. So much do that I made through it in 24 hours.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5