Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Rules for Being a Girl  By  cover art

Rules for Being a Girl

By: Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.79

Buy for $19.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Candace Bushnell, the number one New York Times best-selling author of Sex and the City, and Katie Cotugno, New York Times best-selling author of 99 Days, team up to write a fierce, propulsive novel about a girl who is preyed upon by a manipulative teacher and finds the power to fight back. Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Laurie Halse Anderson.

It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl....

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright - and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk books with her.

But when “Bex” takes things too far and comes on to Marin, she’s shocked and horrified. Had she somehow led him on? Was it her fault?

When Marin works up the courage to tell the administration what happened, no one believes her. She’s forced to face Bex in class every day. Except now, he has an ax to grind.

But Marin isn’t about to back down. She uses the school newspaper to fight back, and she starts a feminist book club at school. She finds allies - and even romance - in the most unexpected people, like Gray Kendall, who she’d always dismissed as just another lacrosse bro.

As things heat up at school and in her personal life, Marin must figure out how to take back the power and write her own rules.

©2020 Candace Bushnell and Katie Cotugno (P)2020 Balzer + Bray

Featured Article: Sex and the City Character Guide


Sex and the City is an essay collection by Candace Bushnell that forever changed the cultural conversation about womanhood, relationships, and, yes, sex. Bushnell created the column "Sex and the City" for The New York Observer in 1994, and framed it as a humorous take on dating in Manhattan based on her own experiences. If that sounds familiar, you’re on the right track. Yes, it was exactly like the column Sarah Jessica Parker’s Carrie Bradshaw wrote on the hit television show Sex and the City, which made its dazzling entrance on HBO in 1998 and still hasn't left the pop culture scene.