Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Firekeeper's Daughter  By  cover art

Firekeeper's Daughter

By: Angeline Boulley
Narrated by: Isabella Star LaBlanc
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.24

Buy for $20.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

"Isabella Star LaBlanc brings an authentic-sounding narration to this powerful audiobook.... Dialogue, including words in other languages, is handled with effortless transitions and clear depictions between characters. This audiobook should not be missed." (AudioFile magazine, Earphones Award winner)

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club YA Pick

An Instant Number One New York Times Best Seller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” (Good Morning America)

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions - and deaths - keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection

An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection

An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection

A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

"The text is filled with Ojibwe phrases and traditions that Native American reader LaBlanc (Sisseton-Wahpeton Dakota) handles with ease. Her voice is young and earnest and her fluency adds to the portrayal of Daunis.... It’s a tale filled with suspense, and LaBlanc’s sensitive reading will keep listeners plugged in." (Booklist, starred review)

"Expert narration from Isabella Star LeBlanc, a Sisseton Wahpeton Dakota, brings authenticity to Daunis’s joy, anger, fear, and grief while providing distinct voices for the supporting cast, including the tribal elders. LeBlanc’s captivating voice draws readers in, expressing every mundane, sweet, heartbreaking, and life-threatening moment." (School Library Journal, starred review)

©2021 Angeline Boulley (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Critic reviews

Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee, 2022

Michael L. Printz Award - Medal, 2022

Goodreads Choice Awards, 2021

School Library Best Books of the Year, 2021

Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year, 2021

NPR Best Book of the Year, 2021

YALSA William C. Morris, 2022

Featured Article: The Audible Essentials Top 100


The spirited (but friendly) debate over these titles could have gone on indefinitely. With years of listening, countless customer reviews, and a catalog of seemingly infinite great listens, 100 suddenly felt like a very small number. What we know for sure—each title that made it to this collection is elevated and made special in some way by audio, whether by a layered performance from a single narrator, a brilliantly cohesive full cast, original music, or immersive sound effects. Discover an audio experience for the ages.